HK PHIL X HKU MUSE 'Orchestral Spotlights: Double Bass' Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra, HKU MUSE


The Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra (HK Phil) is delighted to collaborate with the HKU MUSE once again to present a chamber music concert to spotlight a specific section of the orchestra. This time the protagonist is the HK Phil Double Bass Section. The double bass section, as the lowest-sounding member of the string family, often provides solid foundation to the orchestral texture in classical music—always keeping a low profile but totally indispensable. In Jazz, however, the double bass is the real charmer which plays the dance-like, rhythmic bassline pizzicato, or plucked. This concert will feature a collage of works from various historical periods and styles, including Renaissance, Baroque and American Jazz. The concert will also feature the performance of If the universe is in movement and not at rest… by HKU composer Owen Ho.

Giorgi MAKHOSHVILI Organic
Tony OSBORNE All in a Day's Work
François RABBATH (arr. Klaus TRUMPF ) Kobolds
Owen HO If the Universe is in Movement and Not at Rest… (World Premiere)
PRAETORIUS (arr. FLOWERMAN) Be Not Dismayed, Thou Little Flock
BACH (arr. FLOWERMAN) Jesu, meine Freude
BACH (arr. FLOWERMAN ) Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme
Giovanni BOTTESINI (arr. Klaus TRUMPF) Passione Amorosa: 1st & 3rd Movement
ALBINONI (arr. Klaus TRUMPF) Adagio
Chick COREA (arr. Jeffrey LEHMBERG) Armando's Rhumba
Pierrick HARDY Touetatou


.Patrons under the age of 8 will not be admitted.
.The programme is approximately 1 hour without intermission.
.Guests are advised to arrive punctually. No latecomers will be admitted until a suitable break in the programme.
.Programmes and artists are subject to change.
.The presenter reserves the right to make final decisions on seating arrangement, to deny entry, and reserve all rights of final arbitration in case of dispute.

Production / Artist
HKU Composer Owen Ho
HK Phil Double Bass Section
Artists George Lomdaridze, Jiang Xinlai, Chang Pei-heng, Feng Rong, Samuel Ferrer, Jeffrey Lehmberg, Philip Powell